

Asifa Akhtar, Dr., Prof.

German

Institution: Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Stübeweg 51,

79108 Freiburg

Phone: +49-761-5108-565, Email: akhtar@ie-freiburg.mpg.de Contact:

Position: Director of Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Vice

President of Biology & Medicine Section of the Max Planck Society

Academic education including academic degrees

1990 – 1993 Bachelor in Science (B.Sc.) (First Class Degree); University College London (UCL), UK

Scientific graduation

1993 – 1997 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), Imperial Cancer Research Fund (ICRF), London, UK

Employment

1993

Singe 2020	Vice President, Biology and Medicine Section, Max Planck Society
2015 – 2017	Managing Director, Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics,
	Freiburg
Since 2013	Director, Department of Chromatin Regulation, MPI-IE, Freiburg
2009 - 2013	Max Planck Investigator, MPI-IE, Freiburg
2001 – 2009	Group Leader, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Gene Expression
	Program, Heidelberg
1999 – 2000	Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Adolf-Butenandt Institute, Department of
	Molecular Biology, Munich
1997 – 1999	Postdoctoral Research Scientist, EMBL Heidelberg

Other activities, awards and honours		
2023	International Ellis Island Medal of Honor	
2022	Christa Seric-Geiger Prize	
2021	Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize	
Since 2020	Board member of DFG-SFB1425	
Since 2019	Vice Speaker and board member of DFG-SFB1381	
2019-2021	Elected Chair of the Perspectives Committee for the Biomedical Section, Max	
Planck Society		
2019	Elected Member of Leopoldina National Academy of Sciences	
2017	Wilhelm Feldberg Prize	
Since 2015	Elected member of the Intersectional Board of the Scientific Council, Max Planck	
Society		
Since 2014	Elected member of Max Planck Perspective Committee	
2013	Elected EMBO Member	
2013	Awarded FEBS National Lecture	
2012 - 2020	Co-speaker and board member for DFG-SFB992	
2010 – 2015	Co-coordinator of the EU FP7-funded Network of Excellence "EpiGeneSys"	
2008	European Life Science Organization (ELSO) Early Career Award	
2006 – 2009	Member of EMBL Standing Advisory Committee.	
2004 - 2009	Board member and elected representative of the Newly Established Teams (NET)	
	in the EU FP6 funded "Epigenome" Network of Excellence.	
2002 - 2009	Member of EMBL Graduate Student Committee and EICAT Committee.	
2002 - 2009	Member of EMBL monoclonal antibody user committee.	
2002 - 2004	EMBO YIP PhD student course. Evaluated as the best lecturer.	

Lilian Clarke Prize (UCL) - Best Biology student; Joan-Haxesman Prize (UCL) - Best project; Elizabeth Graham Hocart Prize (UCL) - Most recommended student by

external examiners; Certificate of Merit (UCL) - Academic Achievements.